Lexington Medical Center Ranked #3 Nationally for Quality and Safety

Wake Forest Baptist Health – Lexington Medical Center is once again among nine top-performing community hospitals from across the country to take national honors as a recipient of Vizient, Inc.’s 2017 Bernard A. Birnbaum, M.D., Quality Leadership Award.

The Birnbaum Award is presented to community hospitals and academic medical centers that are Vizient members and demonstrate superior quality and safety performance as measured by the Vizient Quality and Accountability Study which has been conducted annually since 2005.

“We are pleased to achieve this top ranking two years in a row. Our amazing staff has worked diligently to ensure our patients receive the safest, highest quality of care,” said Bill James, M.H.A., president, Lexington Medical Center. “This confirms how Lexington Medical Center remains among the top community hospitals in quality and safety.”

This year, more than 107 academic medical centers (up from 100 in 2016) and 161 community hospitals (up from 124 in 2016) were included in Vizient’s 2017 Quality and Accountability Study.

The study measured performance based on the Institute of Medicine’s six domains of care: safety, timeliness, effectiveness, efficiency, equity and patient centeredness. The composite scoring system uses patient-level performance data from a variety of sources, including the Vizient Clinical Data Base, the Vizient Core Measures Data Base, the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) survey, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Healthcare Safety Network.

“By winning this award, Wake Forest Baptist Health – Lexington Medical Center exemplifies a leadership style that is focused on results and a culture of collaboration and adaptability that is necessary to succeed during this time of uncertainty and change in the health care industry,” said Byron Jobe, president and chief administrative officer for Vizient. “We congratulate them on their achievement.”

2017 Bernard A. Birnbaum Quality Leadership Award winners for community hospitals:

  • Mayo Clinic Health System in Red Wing
  • Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin St. Joseph’s Hospital
  • Wake Forest Baptist Health – Lexington Medical Center
  • Cleveland Clinic Lutheran Hospital
  • Sanford Worthington Medical Center
  • ThedaCare Medical Center – Shawano
  • Missouri Baptist Sullivan Hospital
  • Truman Medical Centers Lakewood
  • Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Community Memorial Hospital

Lexington Medical Center’s award was presented to James on Thursday, Sept. 14 during the 2017 Vizient Clinical Connections Summit held in Denver, Colo.